Midweeks on Mute: Call Me! (JK)

Talking on the phone was one of the first things that made me wonder if my hearing wasn’t up to scratch. I had to hold the phone to my right ear because in the left it sounded fuzzy and gradually less coherent. As a result, I’m not the biggest fan of talking on the phone, especially in cars or public places because the background noise is too much and I have no visual cues and can’t lipread.

This might change when you get your hearing aid, and it might not. I still prefer to use my natural ear on the phone or to have it on speaker. It depends how severe your loss is and how confident you are.

You’ll probably always have some difficulty because your hearing will never sound totally natural again unless the technology improves. Ways around it are to adjust the volume on your phone; explain the problem to people who don’t get why you always just text them; use something like Skype or facetime instead; or use text-based communication and try to talk to people in person as much as possible.

Also, pick a ringtone which is loud enough for you and which is at  pitch that you have less trouble with. For me, that means loud and high. You’ll work out what works for you but hearing your phone go off in the first place is half the battle.

what you saying?

