Creative Genius, Myers-Briggs, and the Cat’s On Fire: Purposeful Pages October 2016

Hey there!

My writing has been a little erratic this last little while and I do apologise but sometimes life just likes to give you too much all at once. I’ll be honest, I have been struggling to write but the events of the last week have broken down whatever it was that was getting in the way and I’ve written about three posts this week. The trouble is that although I write regularly, I don’t always publish pieces because from time to time they are born out of sadness and frustration and that makes me worry about the tone or even the reception.

Like a post I wrote this week for my friends and mentors who continue to remain in the Church of Scotland. Whether or not it will appear here remains to be decided because it is a very difficult and painful subject for everyone and although I am absolutely convicted of my stance, it may not be helpful to others. Then there are other posts that sit in my blogbook or my drafts folder which I just don’t think it’s time to publish for now.

Anyway. That’s how things work. I write a lot, sometimes two or three posts a week depending on what is going through my thinking but probably one in three (or more) aren’t published either because I lose interest halfway through or I decide that it’s just not worth commenting on the issue.

But this month, I decided that I would take up the Purposeful Pages… challenge?…thing that a blogger I follow does (you can find her over at trueandpure.wordpress.com) just because it seems like a good idea and it’s something a little different.

She describes Purposeful Pages as

Purposeful Pages is a monthly link-up designed to unite bloggers on answering questions about life, blogging, the Bible, writing, and books.

So here’s this month’s questions:

Question One // What is something (or who is someone) that has encouraged you to grow in your faith?

This is such a good question. My local church here in Edinburgh. They constantly encourage and challenge me to grow in my faith and I know that we all pray for each other and if I go wrong in any way, they’ll bring me back. They’re like family to me and I’ve grown and been challenged so much while being with them.

Question Two // Has blogging showed a side of you that you normally don’t see?

When I speak, I’m not the most articulate person ever, but when I write, I find my thoughts are a lot more ordered. I’m also a little more open when I write I guess. Not always. Sometimes.

Question Three // What inspires your “creative genius?”

Hmm. Weirdly, I often write better when I’m stressed or upset. Inspiration for my posts usually comes from things we’ve discussed at Bible studies, something that’s been preached on in church, something that has happened or been said to me during the week or a current event. As an unofficial rule, I tend to avoid relationship advice because there’s loads out there and I have nothing constructive or new to add and I tend to avoid politics because once more, there are loads of people out there who write about it and let’s be honest, you couldn’t care less what my perspective on Brexit or the consequences of the Arab Spring is. Anyway, what inspires me is whatever I see and hear around about but in cases of uninspiration, I have a list of fallback blog topics in the back of my blogbook.

Question Four // Why do you write?

Because I can’t not write.

It’s not compulsive, I just can’t help myself. Next question.

Question Five // Your house is on fire, and you only have time to save one thing. Do you grab your hand-written manuscripts or your cat?

Chances are that my cat would only crawl back in because it’s warm (and he’s stupid). On the other hand, if the manuscript is pants, it doesn’t matter too much if I lose it. Then again, firemen are more likely to save cats than someone’s pet novel… Probably the cat then but who knows..

Question Six // If you could ban any book, which one would it be, and why?

There’s a lot of rubbish out there but probably Jurgen Moltmann’s The Crucified God because it annoys the living daylights out of me. But then so do things like Twilight and the Da Vinci Code. There is a hit list but I’m not sure what has the honour of first place.

Question Seven // What is your Myers-Briggs personality type (if you know it), and what unique aspect of your personality makes you who you are?

INFP (Introverted, iNtuitive, Feeling, and Perceiving) and I have no idea about the second bit.

Question Eight // Did you have any kind of “breakthrough” point in your life, whether it had to do with writing, blogging, art, or anything else? If so, would you like to share about it?

I guess there have been a few breakthrough points in my life in different areas but no, I don’t particularly care to share.

Question Nine // Are there any hobbies that you have that don’t fit the stereotypical you?

Pft. I’m not sure what the ‘stereotypical me’ is. Unusual hobbies though… I knit and I love to go to the zoo. I’m also considering taking up a sport called Antagonistics which is a bit quirky but sounds fun.

Question Ten // Even if you haven’t written an official life purpose statement, can you tell us in a few sentences what you feel called to do with your life right now?

To glorify God and enjoy him forever. *polishes halo* Joking about the halo but I don’t really know. I’m just working and serving where I can in the local church and thinking and praying about what to do next. Although I have a very strong love for the Dayak people of Indonesia, short of neon lights in the sky telling me otherwise I’m resolved to stay in Scotland because I already have the language, I know the culture inside out, and here is where the need is so why would I trot off elsewhere.

So there you go, that’s the ten questions for this month and if you enjoyed them, let me know so that I can decide whether to do it again. Or if you have any questions of your own for me, leave them in a comment below and I’ll see if I can help you out.

Have a nice day!

what you saying?

